2016 Powerhockey Cup Comes to a Close

Another tournament is in the books as the PowerPlay finished in second place after losing the championship game to the Minnesota Saints 4-3.

The first day of the 2016 Powerhockey Cup was kicked off right at the Opening Ceremonies with player introductions by Philadelphia Flyers long time in house announcer Lou Nolan and the singing of the Canadian and American National Anthems by the Flyers own, #1 ranked anthemist in the NHL, Lauren Hart.

The games followed shortly as the hosting team, the Philadelphia PowerPlay, took on the Toronto Lake Raiders. Philly fell behind 1-0 but quickly rebounded with 5 straight goals on their way to a commanding 10-7 win. The second game for both the PowerPlay and the Capitals was a low scoring defensive affair that went the distance. The first OT game of the tournament was won on a powerplay breakaway goal for Ottawa’s Mathieu Gagnon. The Philadelphia PowerPlay dropped their third game against Michigan as the Mustangs scored 5 unanswered goals in the 3rd period on their way to a 8-5 victory.

The first of two exhibition games was played between the Philadelphia PowerPlay Grays and North American Selects. The Philadelphia PowerPlay Grays is made up of players from the Philadelphia PowerPlay wheelchair hockey league while the North American Selects is made up of players from all other teams participating in the 2016 Powerhockey Cup. The fun-filled friendly game was won by the Selects 7-0.

One of the most exciting games of the tournament was seen in a back and forth match between the PowerPlay and Rock. After the Rock tied the game with back to back goals with 5 minutes left in regulation, Alex Pitts scored two of his own to give the hosting team the 7-5 win.

The PowerPlay finished the round robin with 2 wins and 3 losses and were awarded the #5 seed. They took on the #4 seed Ottawa Capitals in the quarterfinals. The PowerPlay played their best game and completed the first and only shutout of the tournament 5-0. They advanced to the semifinals against the Michigan Mustangs. Alex Pitts scored the game winning goal on the powerplay with 29 seconds left in regulation to send the PowerPlay to the championship game against the Minnesota Saints. The Saints jumped out to 4-1 lead but the relentless PowerPlay pushed across 2 goals to get within one goal. However, Minnesota held on to win their fourth consecutive Powerhockey Cup.

We are proud of the hard work and determination of our players and honored to have hosted the 2016 Powerhockey Cup. Thank you to the teams and fans! Click here to view photos from the 2016 Powerhockey Cup.

PowerPlay Defeats Flyers Alumni in OT

On Friday, June 17th, the PowerPlay played against the Philadelphia Flyers Alumni and front office staff. A fun and competitive game was capped off with the game winning OT goal scored by Alex Pitts and assisted by Liam Miller. Click here to read an article about the game written by Complete Philly Coverage. Check out the video of overtime below:

2016 Award Winners

Congratulations to all of today’s award winners. You all did an amazing job this season. And thank you to everyone for a great 13th year of Philadelphia PowerPlay hockey!

Top Offensive Forward – Jake Saxton
Top Defensive Forward – Alex Pitts
Top Goalie – Erin Anne Gordon
Top Defensive Player – Michele Boardman
Most Valuable Player – Jake Saxton
Player of the Year – Liam Miller
Eric J. Perry Teamwork Award – Bryce Smith
Richard Weaver Unsung Hero Award – Greg Smith

2016 Tournament Team Announced

The following players have been chosen to participate on the 2016 Tournament Team and Exhibition team. The tournament and exhibition teams will be playing at the 2016 Powerhockey Cup hosted by the Philadelphia PowerPlay at the Philadelphia Convention Center on July 8-11th.

Tournament Team:
Michele Boardman
Anthony Damico
Lea Donaghy
Caitlin Dontonville
Erin Gordon
Pete Henkel
Luke Hoban
Liam Miller
Alex Pitts
Jake Saxton
John Simko
Bryce Smith

Gary Saxton
Tony Damico

Exhibition Team:
Anthony Caballero
Jessica Grono
Sean Hesser
Anthony Laube
Eric McGovern
Hisham Mohammed
Michael Presloid
AJ Rinker
Lauren Shipman
Greg Smith

Jake Hartline
Rodger Laube

Click here to view the entire Philadelphia PowerPlay roster.